MBTA Educational Foundation

Supporting the future of transportation in Maine

The MBTA Educational Foundation is a tax-exempt, non-profit charitable organization that awards scholarships annually to deserving Maine students studying transportation-related fields of study. The MBTA hopes scholarship recipients may become future leaders in the industry.
The MBTA began offering scholarships in the early 1980s, when the organization established the Scholarship Fund. In 2000, the association formed a separate organization, the MBTA Educational Foundation, in order to better manage the funds and to provide an opportunity for MBTA members and friends to donate to the foundation. The fund has grown from $4,500 in 1990 to nearly $300,000 in 2008, thanks to the generosity of MBTA members. The major fundraiser for the foundation is the annual Super Raffle, but members also make other donations.

In recent years, the association has provided scholarships to students enrolled at the University of Maine, Maine Maritime Academy, Washington County Community College, Northern Maine Community College and Southern Maine Community College. Each school forwards names to the MBTA of students enrolled in transportation-related programs and who have shown financial need and academic promise. Members of the foundation’s board of directors make the selections. Awards range from $500 to $2,000.
Several MBTA Educational Foundation scholarship recipients are pre-screened through the specific schools, and the Educational Foundation board makes the final award decisions. The Kenneth W. Burrill Scholarship and the Transportation Trailblazer Scholarship may be sought by completing the application forms and other required materials by June 30. For more information about all MBTA scholarships, contact the MBTA at 622-0526.
Transportation Trailblazer Scholarship
A new $1,500 scholarship to be awarded in 2009, this grant will go to a student enrolled or accepted in a transportation-related program who has demonstrated an interest in the industry and shows promise as a future advocate for the transportation community in Maine. This is a sustaining scholarship, meaning the same individual may receive it for up to four years, provided the student continues to meet the criteria. MBTA members are encouraged to actively recruit students to apply. 
Kenneth W. Burrill Scholarship
The Kenneth W. Burrill scholarship was established in 2009 in memory of Ken Burrill. Ken was a former MBTA president and Transportation Achievement Award recipient (1999) who had a long and distinguished career in transportation and construction. The $1,500 scholarship is available to any Maine resident accepted or already enrolled in a transportation-related program at any post-secondary institution in Maine. Preference will be given to students who have worked in the transportation or construction field, or who have shown other indications that construction is their career of choice.
Lucius Barrows Scholarship
This was the first scholarship funded by the MBTA and is awarded annually in the memory of the Maine Department of Transportation’s Chief Engineer, Lucius Barrows, who served in that position from 1928 to 1955 (at the time, he was the department’s longest-serving chief engineer). The MBTA awards this scholarship to second, third or fourth-year civil engineering students at the University of Maine. The University of Maine selects the finalists for this award. Awards range from $500 to $2,000.
Millard Pray Scholarship
Millard Pray, a former MBTA president, has been very active with the MBTA Educational Foundation. In his honor, his former business partner and friend Eldon Morrison (CPM Constructors) endowed this scholarship fund in 2003. Millard heads the committee that selects the recipients for this annual scholarship. Preference is given to employees of CPM, or children of employees or others who have a connection to the company. Past recipients have been enrolled at McGill University, University of Maine, Maine Maritime Academy, Northern Maine Community College, and University of Southern Maine. A total of $2,000 is available, and amounts vary depending on the number of recipients.
Paris W. Snow Scholarship
Established to honor the Aroostook County legislator, businessman and former MBTA Board member, this scholarship is awarded annually to a deserving student enrolled at Northern Maine Community College, studying in a transportation-related field. Awards range from $500 to $1,000, and the college forwards a list of finalists to the MBTA Educational Foundation board.
Maine Transportation Conference Scholarships
The MBTA is proud to partner with the Maine Section ASCE in raising money and awarding the annual Maine Transportation Conference Scholarships. Every year, the two organizations raise between $3,000 and $7,000 in conference sponsorships. The awards are made to students in the civil engineering or construction management program at the University of Maine and UMaine faculty select the recipients.

2018 Scholarship Applications
Frank A. Healy Scholarship

Donate to the MBTA Educational Foundation Frank A. Healy Scholarship

Pay Now
Pay online with credit card or PayPal

Paving the way
Paving the way: Recruiting students into transportation careers
According to a 2009 report by the Mineta Institute, only 12 percent of civil engineering students choose transportation as a profession. What can we do to groom a new generation of transportation industry leaders?
Giving Opportunities

Gifts of cash and securities are welcome.

Members and friends may also designate contributions through a will or trust.

An individual, group, or business may elect to honor an associate’s professional contributions through a named scholarship. Examples of named scholarships include the Millard W. Pray Scholarship and the Kenneth W. Burrill Scholarship.

For more information about making a gift to the MBTA Educational Foundation, please contact Maria Fuentes, 207-622-0526.



MBTA sponsors summer "Construction Camp" at UMaine